Review: Arctic Monkeys – Suck It And See

Arctic Monkeys – Suck It And See

One of my favorite bands period – always happy to see something from these young guys….and they come through for me again.

They went back something similar to what they started out with: hard drums, screaming guitars, and Alex Turner’s songwriting.  It’s a pretty simple, and winning game plan.  It’s not that I didn’t like the Josh Homme version of the band, but I felt like his drudge slowed down their flow.  James Ford, who worked with Turner in their side project Last Shadow Puppets, “produced” the album (and the second LP), but I’m not sure to what extent.  They sound like themselves, as far as I’m concerned.

I’ve read about some Smiths and Echo… influences in certain reviews.  And I suppose I see it, but if anything, it definitely doesn’t take away from anything they’re doing sonically.  Turner’s lyricism certainly isn’t anything like Morrissey’s, not in tone, or…in anything.  At least not to me.  Their aren’t any straight up “hits” on the record, but it’s very solid through and through.  They are excellent musicians, and the lyrics are still spot on, as always.

Grade: B+.  I’ve enjoyed this album, almost as much as the first two.

Leave a Reply

