Review: Beastie Boys – Hot Sauce Committee, Part Two

Beastie Boys – Hot Sauce Committee, Part Two

The last Beastie record I’ve felt super positive about was 98’s Hello Nasty.  They typically make really fun music, and they continue the legacy here.  I think the very first thing I have to note is the production is top notch, and I mean upper, upper echelon production.  I almost wish they come out with this after Nasty.  Everything is major – the instrumentation is amazing.  The effects/textures/tones are amazing.  It’s new and old, and then mixed together – and it’s all done very tightly and cohesively.

It’s not going to be the best album, if you’re looking for lyrics – it’s the usual Beastie comedic fare – or some sort of story/concept/focus.  For me, the music is so tight – I’m not really upset that they still rap like they did in 1987.  It actually gives it some unusual amount of character, because they know it.  They see no need to be super MC’s, with the multi-syllabic sixteens, like Nas, per se.  They also come off as rappers their own age – which I feel is paramount for artists maintaining.  They understand how to stay themselves, and still be interesting.

Grade: B+.  I think people will love this album more with each spin.

This is from the live stream at MSG.

Leave a Reply

