Pick of the Day – December 21st: Top Songs of 2010 (top 10)

These were my favorite ten tracks of this year, or maybe the ones that stayed with me the most.  Day off – yes!….need to tie off some loose ends for Christmas.  Enjoy.

These New Puritans – “We Want War”……for me, the first great song/album of the year.  The drums, and vocal layering kills.

Yahzarah – “The Lie”…..I enjoyed the lyrics, the sound of a woman vocalizing inevitability.  And then, the instrumentation.

The Roots – “Dear God 2.0”….works at every level….the song fits the Roots to a T. (ignore the first 30-45 seconds of the video – this was the best version and I can’t use the VEVO video on a blog)

LCD Soundsystem – “Dance Yrself Clean”….it’s like two tracks in one – and both are great.  One for the lyrics, the other for the explosive sounds.

Big Boi – “Shutterbugg”….catchy hook, dope beat, great raps…..and just a strong, strong track.

Sleigh Bells – “Infinity Guitar”….explosive – The muthafuckin bass.

Deerhunter – “Desire Lines”……one of the most played songs for me this year (and albums.)  Will probably stay with me for long after 2010.

Arcade Fire – “The Suburbs”……honestly, it sounds like they’ve stolen some lost tapes from the Beatles and recorded them in some secret room in Montreal.  Amazing. “So move your feet from hot pavement, and into the grass…”

Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti – Fright Night (Nevermore)…..I have to honest – this song scares the shit out of me for some reason.  I’m not sure why, but I get the heebie geebies.  It’s just fucking incredible.

Kanye West – “Power (Remix)”…the original was hella strong.  But this remix, Kanye spazzes the hell out on the Snap! sample.  Pure enjoyment for me.

Leave a Reply

