Pick of the Day – September 24th: Swans – My Father Will Guide Me Up a Rope to the Sky

Swans – My Father Will Guide Me Up a Rope to the Sky

I really hadn’t heard much of this band before maybe two weeks ago.  Their last studio release was about 14 years ago, and I actually was still in high school, just trying to wrap my head about Dave Matthews Band, Foo Fighters, and Nas….in other words, I hadn’t made it into the deeper reaches, that I know lay down in.  I took the time to listen to that last release, for context – which was pretty eff’in choice.  I picked this one up….and man….I have to say…revelatory.  That’s the first word that comes to mind right now.   It’s a dark-ish tone, with themes of revelation (that word, or part of it, again), redemption, and forgiveness.  The songs are grand, even when they are sparse.  They build nicely, and sometimes quickly, into these dense sets of layered noise.  Pretty awesome.

If you grew up on bands like Sonic Youth, then you know who they are.  SY, and all the bands with them, were a generation before my little space in time.  That being said it’s good to see them back – plus it gives me an excellent reason to look for more records.  Highly recommended, one of the best releases of the year….only 3 months left.

Leave a Reply

