Pick of the Day – September 18th: Blonde Redhead – Penny Sparkle

Blonde Redhead – Penny Sparkle

As a fan of this group, I like to stay up on them – but this sort of snuck on me…..to the point that I only remembered because Dave told me he had it.  (…Just not enough time in the day – I probably need to start notating release dates of albums.)  This album is a lot more synthetic than previous album, especially 23.  But they found a way, to give the synths some heart and depth.  Of course the lithe vocals help a lot.  I actually read that the recording experience was a bit unsettling, but it still seems as smooth as ever.  It’s one of the those albums you can just put on while you’re doing something…anything really.  It’s just hella easy to listen to from track to track.  Some people may not like the path they taken to today’s version – but I think it’s a very mature direction.  Still challenging, but relaxed enough to chill out on.  Recommended.

I don’t really like the whole VEVO situation, but this is a good live performance

One thought on “Pick of the Day – September 18th: Blonde Redhead – Penny Sparkle

Leave a Reply

