Pick of the Day – August 25th: Les Savy Fav – Root for Ruin

Les Savy Fav – Root for Ruin

More (mostly) new indie rock from a band, that while I do have albums (really enjoyed Let’s Stay Friends), I’ve admitted slept on them for the most part.  But this album is pretty dope.  For those not familiar, it’s sort of noise rock/pop, in something like Fugazi…..but I think that’s a lazy comparison.  They are just a pretty dope band, and I’ve watched Tim Harrington’s stage antics on YouTube and all that.  So I’m familiar, I think maybe I was into Kanye’s Graduation album. (They came out around the same time, and I was on Common’s album…some Oh No and Madlib….some old 70’s Indian funk stuff…and a few others before that…and then that went straight into Radiohead’s In Rainbows.  Yep – Let’s Stay Friends really didn’t have a shot…I actually think I bought it at Waterloo, and didn’t listen to it until a month or so later.)  In any case, the record is recommended – I apologize for sleeping on you guys for the last 4-5 years or so.

Leave a Reply

