The Women Who Rock My World…

So I was watching Kevin Drew’s short film that doubles as a video for Feist’s song The Water, and I realized there are alot of women in music who kick ass. By kick ass I mean they are artistic, smart, attractive. I decided to dedicate a post to these  women and maybe you could use a little more bad ass estrogen in your day.

We will start with

1. Feist

fesit

She is probably the most famous out of all the women I am going to list. Some may feel a certian way about her for her success, I dont. Despite her corny ass Ipod commercial I am giving her a pass. The woman has one of the most soothing voices I have ever heard. If I believed in angels and they could sing they would probably sound like Feist.

Watch her video/short film for The Water here at Pitchfork.

2. Annie Clark a.k.a. St. Vincent

st-vincent

This is another young lady with an Angelic voice. The thing that makes her different is her ability to be mysterious, strange, and haunting yet remain so inculpable. Oh yeah, another bad ass thing about her is she played in The Polyphinic Spree and Sufjan Stevens back up band. She plays several instruments and writes her own tunes. Her new album Actor will be released May 5th. Enjoy.

Watch her Offical video premiere for Actor Out Of Work.

Paris Is Burning (Live in DUMBO)

3. Elizabeth Powell (Land Of Talk)

liz

Liz Powell is the lead singer and guitarist for the kick ass Canadian indie band Land Of Talk. I was lucky enough to see them live in Richmond when they opened up for Broken Social Scene. She not only tore the house down with LOT she sung all the female vocal parts for BSS. I think Land Of Talk’s first EP should be standard listening for the die hard indie rock fan.

Speak To Me Bones

4. Karen O (Yeah Yeah Yeahs)

karen-o

Karen O is the Williamsburg punk rock princess. They have released their new album Its Blitz on Itunes and it will be released nationwide very soon. A strong history of tearing up the stage, Karen O will kick your ass…

5. Kazu Makino (Blonde Redhead)

kazu

Kazu is the lead singer of the amazing band Blonde Redhead. Although I havent heard much from them lately I am assuming they are hiding out in the studio somewhere.  The most recent song I have heard about them is on the Dark Was The Night Compilation. Blonde Redhead are an awesome band musically but it also helps that Kazu has such a sexy voice.

6. Santi White a.k.a. Santogold a.k.a. SantiGold

santo

Santigold is a survivor of a half century worth of living along musical evolution’s most cutting edges. The only live act that can boast of having out-aged Barbara Bush, having outlived Mr. Miyagi and out styled Liberace, Santigold is here with future flavor. What most people dont know is she produced RES’s amazing first and only album. She also was the lead singer of a punk band called Stiffed produced by some of the dudes from Bad Brains…Badass

7. Natasha Khan (Bat For Lashes)

natash

What more can I say about Natasha Khan that I havent already said. Love me some Natasha Khan

8. Shara Worden (My Brightest Diamond)

shara

I discovered My Brightest Diamond by accident, one of the best accidents I ever made. Shara Worden is classically trained in Opera. She infuses that into indie rock and it makes the most interesting and beautiful combo. She is featured on The Decemberists new album. She has a new remix album dropping soon. Oh yeah she also used to be back up for Sufjan Stevens. I’m not a huge fan of him but he sure has a ear for talent.

Ok well I feel like I could keep going but I will stop. I enjoy all types of music but sometimes I just want my world rocked by some of these ladies…YEAH!

D.

One thought on “The Women Who Rock My World…

Leave a Reply

