Music: Can, (vintage) Redman, The Dream, Fever Ray

Can - Ege Bamyasi

Can - Ege Bamyasi

One of the best albums I’ve ever listened to.  Although I’ve manage to pick up most of the albums, I’m relatively new to this band.  (Krautrock wasn’t exactly killing the boombox when I was coming up int he 80s and 90s in Texas or South Carolina.)  But man, am I glad I’ve found these albums – especially this one.  It’s got a dope ass groove sound.  You can see the influence on a band like Radiohead.

Redman - Funkorama (single release)

Redman - Funkorama (single release)

For whatever reason this song popped in my head a few days ago – I had to find it….and I did on YouTube and iTunes for a buck fifty.  If you can find the single – cop it.  If you can find Insomnia – the Erick Serman compilation this was originally on – even better.  The lyrics on this are NUTS.  Makes you remember Redman is one the best to ever do it.

The Dream - Love vs. Money

The Dream - Love vs. Money

I’m not huge on a lot of the R&B coming out right now, but I have to admit I like this dude.  He’s like the new age R. Kelly with a bit of Prince mixed in.  I think that the big difference is that he actually writes and co-produces his own music.  He’s not trying to fit into other people beats or songs, because he’s crafting his own.  And it feels….authentic.  I think he might end up making some close to a classic 2000’s era R&B album one day – something close to or better than 12 Play.  Dope R&B album.

Fever Ray - Fever Ray

Fever Ray - Fever Ray

It’s this simple: if you like The Knife, you’ll appreciate this.   This is a slightly darker side project from Karin Dreijer Andersson, half of the aforementioned duo.  Ill.

Leave a Reply

